Time Attack Forums  

Go Back   Time Attack Forums > Technical > Safety Equipment


Safety Equipment A place to talk about helmets, suits, roll bars, cages, fire systems and more!

Visit Our Full Sponsor List



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 01:31 AM
Im a Noob
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 14
A warning about FAKE Takatas

Most people should be aware about this by now but just incase you weren't:

]










The company who produced these fake harnesses really crossed the line with the fake FIA tags..
__________________
Memoryfab.com
M-F 10A-6P PST
Sat by appt. only
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 03:27 AM
Scott @ RA's Avatar
T.A.F. Supporting Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 689
Ummm, I think I like the fake ones better anyways.....





























... LOL J/K
__________________
SCOTT @ RELENTLESS AUTOSPORTS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:23 AM
ZZW30's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 320
I wish there was more that could be done to fight companies like this. The average retard ebay buyer who wants to show off his Takatas doesn't give a damn if they are real or fake so these type of companies will continue to make money.
__________________
2000 MR2 Spyder (Black)
2000 MR2 Spyder (Yellow)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:32 AM
Budski's Avatar
Amateur Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St Louis
Posts: 915
that's just really sad
__________________
Blue Ribbon Racing SR20E30. Racing preparation by Retuning.net, beer provided by Pabst
www.budskiphotography.com
http://blueribbonracing.blogspot.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:20 AM
JamesE's Avatar
T.A.F. Supporting Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 413
Thanks for posting this! If you want to make sure you are getting the real deal, there is no better way than to buy them straight from the source...

Special Pricing on Takata Harnesses for TAF users.
__________________
James Elterman - Takata Time Attack
Racing Preparation by LIC Motorsports
Contact Me For Special Pricing on Takata Products
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:02 AM
Duax-Machine's Avatar
Im a Noob
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZW30 View Post
I wish there was more that could be done to fight companies like this.
There is !

If they are on eBay, there is a the VeOR program.
How eBay Protects Intellectual Property (VeRO)

All it takes is for the real importer/distributor to sign up on this program with eBay,
and when ever they see their trade name being used to sell this crap, to contact eBay.
eBay will kill all the listings from that seller.
And if that seller continues trying to sell their junk, eBay will suspend them.

But it take effort on the part of the people who are selling the real deal.

HKS does it.
APEX does it.
BRIDE chooses to ignor the problem.

So how about it JamesE ??
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:18 AM
JamesE's Avatar
T.A.F. Supporting Vendor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duax-Machine View Post
So how about it JamesE ??
I knew counterfeits were out there, but I didn't realize they were so prevalent on ebay. I'll do some research, and pass on my recommendations to Takata.
__________________
James Elterman - Takata Time Attack
Racing Preparation by LIC Motorsports
Contact Me For Special Pricing on Takata Products
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:25 AM
Kris@T.A.F.'s Avatar
Time Attack Forums (Admin)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Henderson
Posts: 2,418
Send a message via AIM to Kris@T.A.F.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duax-Machine View Post
There is !

If they are on eBay, there is a the VeOR program.
How eBay Protects Intellectual Property (VeRO)

All it takes is for the real importer/distributor to sign up on this program with eBay,
and when ever they see their trade name being used to sell this crap, to contact eBay.
eBay will kill all the listings from that seller.
And if that seller continues trying to sell their junk, eBay will suspend them.

But it take effort on the part of the people who are selling the real deal.

HKS does it.
APEX does it.
BRIDE chooses to ignor the problem.

So how about it JamesE ??
I just e-mailed my friend at Lot-USA (the US dist of BRIDE) and linked him to your post.

Im not sure if they can do anything even with Ebay as the fake company trademarked "BRIDE" of Taiwan, so they can legally use the name
__________________
Kris (aka M3This) - Time Attack Forums

Let Us Know How We Can Keep This Site The Best: Contact Us | Check Out Our: Twitter | Facebook | MySpace
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:49 AM
Duax-Machine's Avatar
Im a Noob
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 46
The other option is to attack these rip-off artists aggressively.

Continue to point out what products/sellers are fake.
Push for others to flood their e-mails with negative e-mails.
(this is very effective on eBay sellers)
Post new threads on every forum your signed up on about who is doing this.
And be more negative to anybody buying this junk.

And this should carry over to all the non-brand name turd products out of china.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:48 PM
eclip5e's Avatar
Pit Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 129
Guys,

I bought the fake ones to save a few bucks thinking "HEY, I WONT NEED THEM ANYWAYS, IT WONT HAPPEN TO ME..."


Now i'm dead.

Take my advice: Dont be cheap & dead like me.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Fake TEIN S.Tech spring sets Duax-Machine Suspension & Brakes 7 03-14-2009 10:41 AM



Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Designed by: Miner Skinz and
Modified by Adway Media
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 Adway Media Mangement